2021 Wight Two Day Award Winners

11 months ago • 16/9/2021Posted by Wayne Brodie

The result status for The 2021 Wight Two Day Trial have now changed from provisional to confirmed. The Team Competition placings will be confirmed in the next few days.

All class winners will receive an engraved award - but these won't be posted out until after the Club's annual award ceremony which is typically held in February of each year.

There is one other very 'special award' The Malcolm Wells Award for Endeavour. Malcolm has kindly donated £50 to go to the award winner for 2021. This award is open to absolutely anyone connected with the trial - Malcolm was very keen that this award should be open to all & not just the riders. There were a few nominations for 2021 & The Club's Committee are very pleased to announce that this year's award goes to Millie Duval.

Millie entered as a rider but just days before the trial had injured her ankle and had no choice but to reluctantly withdraw her entry. Having not visited the Island before, Millie still made the trip over, aided by crutches, to attend the event. When the club was short of observers for both Saturday & Sunday and Millie kindly picked up a board, on both days! What a fantastic and helpful attitude - and very worthy of this special recognition.

BVM moto generously donated 4 gift vouchers to be awarded to best Expert, best Clubman/Expert, best Clubman and best Adult D (Nov) classes. Chris Stay & George Gosden (joint Expert winners) are already sponsored by BVM so they ruled themselves ineligible - therefore the voucher is awarded to the next best Expert; Thomas Culliford. The remaining class winners to receive a BVM Gift Voucher are as follows: Best Clubman/Expert: Wayne Holdsworth. Best Clubman: Mick Marshall and best Adult D (Nov): Richard Lewis. The club would like to thank BVM moto for supporting The 2021 Wight Two Day Trial.

Another very generous donor, this time from The IOWMCC, also donated 4 gift vouchers - the intention was to give one to each of the youth class winners. However, ACU rules clearly state that cash or vouchers are prohibited as prizes for youth competitors! We decided instead to hold a raffle where the 1st 4 youth rider names to be pulled out would receive a voucher each. Funny how things work out - there were no entries in the Youth A class and 3 of the four names drawn were in fact the remaining class winners! Alfie Haydon (Youth B winner) Holly Boys-Guest (Youth C winner) David James (Youth D winner) and the last voucher goes to Kaidan Cutts (Youth D).

Congratulations to Millie Duval, BVM Gift Voucher Winners and to the Youth Raffle Draw Winners.

All prize & raffle vouchers will be sent by Royal Mail to the registered addresses (held by the ACU) in the next few days.